Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Troon Saguaro Amateur Series Returns for 2018 Season - Kicks off with 'The Sizzler' June 17-20

(Scottsdale, Ariz.) – Troon, the leader in golf course management, development, and marketing, announces the return of their competitive amateur golf events – the Troon Saguaro Amateur Series. The multi-stage series began in 2017 with four events across two states, providing high-level amateurs, college players, juniors and Troon-facility club champions a chance to compete throughout the year. In 2018, the Troon Saguaro Amateur Series grows to five events over three states with the addition of the Rocky Top Amateur, set for August 13-16 at Tennessee National Golf Club in Knoxville, Tenn. The Sizzler, the first event of the 2018 Troon Saguaro Amateur Series, will be held June 17-20 at Troon North Golf Club (Monument Course) in Scottsdale, Ariz.

All Troon Saguaro Amateur Series events are World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) and Scratch Player World Amateur Ranking (SPWAR) ranked events. Each event winner and top point earners will earn exemptions into the season-ending Saguaro Amateur at Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club in Maricopa, Ariz. January 1-4, 2019.

The 2018-19 Troon Saguaro Amateur Series includes the following events:
- 2018 SIZZLER AMATEUR – June 17-20 at Troon North (Monument Course) in Scottsdale, Arizona
- 2018 ROCKY TOP AMATEUR – August 13-16 at Tennessee National Golf Club in Knoxville, Tennessee
- 2018 GOBBLER AMATEUR – November 18-21 at Sewailo Golf Club in Tucson, Arizona
- 2018 AGAVE AMATEUR –  December 18-21 at Shadow Hills Golf Club near Palm Desert, California
- 2019 SAGUARO AMATEUR (Troon Saguaro Amateur Series Championship) – January 1-4, 2019 at Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club in Maricopa, Arizona

The concept of the Saguaro Amateur and its evolution into a series is the brainchild of University of Colorado Head Men's Golf Coach Roy Edwards, University of Wyoming Director of Golf Programs Joe Jensen, and Ak-Chin Southern Dunes General Manager Brady Wilson. Troon is the series' title sponsor. The 2017-18 Troon Saguaro Amateur Series was won by Blake Hathcoat, a rising junior at St. Mary's College in Moraga, Calif.

"2017-18 was a very successful first year of the Troon Saguaro Amateur Series and we are already building great momentum into the five-tournament 2018-19 Series," said Troon Saguaro Amateur Series Chairman Roy Edwards. "Players are competing for exemptions along with the series championship.  In the short lifespan of the Saguaro Amateur we have hosted many of the top amateur golfers from around the world. We have been fortunate to have such tremendous partners in Troon."

“We’re proud of how quickly the Troon Saguaro Amateur Series has grown into five premier amateur events,” said Mitch Harrell, president, Troon Golf. “Hosting the best amateur golfers in the country at these five Troon Golf-managed courses is exciting. We wish the competitors well and look forward to seeing the best of the best at season’s end at the Saguaro Amateur in January.”

For more information and entry details for the Troon Saguaro Amateur Series, visit

For additional news and information, visit

No comments: