Friday, May 15, 2015

110 SwingThought Tour current/past players in 2015 BMW Charity Pro-Am field

More than 65% of No. 2 Tour’s Field, including four past Players of the Year and four exemption winners, spent time on SwingThought Tour (formerly the NGA/Hooters Tour)

(Greenville, S.C.) – When the best professionals not on the PGA TOUR tee it up this week in Greenville, S.C. at the Tour BMW Charity Pro-Am, 110 of them will have something in common. Almost two-thirds of the field will have competed on the SwingThought Tour (formerly the NGA/Hooters Tour) at some point in their careers.

The list includes four past Players of the Year, four past Rookies of the Year, two Golf Achievement Award Winners, and 10 players who have won on the SwingThought Tour either this year or last. The 4 past Players of the Year include Casey Wittenberg (2007), David Skinns (2008), Jeff Corr (2011), and Dominic Bozzelli (2014). Bozzelli, who finished T9 in last year’s event, also won Rookie of the Year in 2014, the only player to ever win Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year on the SwingThought Tour in the same year. The other three Rookies of the Year are Vaughn Taylor (1999), Will Wilcox (2010), and Ryan Spears (2011). The two Golf Achievement Award Winners are Mark Silvers (2012) and J.C. Horne (2014). Bozzelli, Corr, Horne, and Skinns all won events on the SwingThought Tour in 2014 along with Brian Richey, Patton Kizzire, Crawford Reeves, and Richy Werenski. Wade Binfield and Albin Choi have won on the SwingThought Tour this season.

By way of their wins this season, Binfield and Choi earned exemptions into this year’s field. While the SwingThought Tour has been awarded exemptions into the BMW Charity Pro-Am since 2013 this was the first year the tour was awarded four exemptions into the event. Mark Blakefield and Thomas Sutton earned the other two exemptions. Blakefield played his way via a T2 finish at the SwingThought Tour Ocala Marion Classic while Sutton earned his way in by being the 36-hole leader in the SwingThought Tour season opening Valdosta event. Binfield’s win in the Pine Classic at Diamondhead earned his exemption while Choi’s Cardinal Classic at Diamondhead earned his. In addition, 2015 SwingThought Tour members Mackenzie Hughes and Trey Mullinax are also in the field.

To follow all the action from this year’s BMW Charity Pro-Am, visit and on Twitter @BMWCharityProAm

For more information on the new SwingThought Tour visit or call 800-992-8748.

Follow on Twitter @TheNGATour and on Facebook at

No comments: