Saturday, January 31, 2015

San Diego State alum Wilson Bateman wins $40,000 Tour MetroWest Event

Auburn alum, SwingThought Player of the Year Bozzelli ties for second with Louisville alum Wheeldon

(Orlando, Fla.) – San Diego State alum Wilson Bateman, out of Lake Nona, Fla., led from beginning to end, posting the best rounds of the day the first two days and a 3-under par final round to finish at 14 under par for the event, six better than his nearest competitors. 2014 Tour Player of the Year Dominic Bozzelli, who starred at Auburn, finished at 8-under par and in a tie for second with Canada’s Riley Wheeldon, who starred at Louisville.

Past Tour winners Sam Ryder and Stephen Carney finished tied for 4th at 7-under par. Rookie Nick Palladino, who made the Tour’s 20 Players to Watch in 2015 coming off his All-Nicklaus career at Rochester, finished in a tie for sixth at 6-under par with Jay McCluen. 2014 Winter Series Money Title Winner Christopher Ross, out of Eastern Michigan, finished tied 11th at 3-under par with past Tour winners J.T. Griffin, Seth Fair, and Chip Deason.

Bateman received $11,000 for the win while Bozzelli and Wheeldon each received $4,600. The $40,000 Guaranteed Purse MetroWset event was the 5th Guaranteed Purse event of the Tour Winter Series season, the first season in which the Tour (formerly NGA/Hooters) has guaranteed “Winter” purses. The Winter Series heads to Timacuan next week followed by the season ending $50,000 event at Red Tail February 17th through 19th. The Top 60 Members from the Winter Series  will have first option to enter into the Red Tail event up til Friday February 6th. After that date, entries will be open to to 1st come 1st serve, members and nonmembers.

For Full Field Results, visit:

The Tour is currently taking memberships for the upcoming 2015 Pro Series. Players may join by contacting the Tour offices at 800-992-8748. The 2015 schedule consists of 16 $140,000 Guaranteed Purses events and 6 54-hole Q-School/Qualifier Prep events played primarily throughout the southeast and southwest running February through August. The sixteen (16) guaranteed purse events and over $2.5 million in purse money paid out will by far be the largest for a Pro Series in the United States for 2015. Tour alumni have won an amazing 16 Major Championships and include 2012 and 2014 Masters champion Bubba Watson, 2011 PGA Championship winner Keegan Bradley, 2010 PGA TOUR Player of the Year and 2003 US Open Champion Jim Furyk, 2007 Masters Champion Zach Johnson, two-time U.S. Open Champion Lee Janzen, British Open and PGA Champion John Daly, and recent PGA Tour winners such as Michael Thompson, Ted Potter Jr, Gary Woodland, Russell Henley, Mark Wilson, George McNeill, Scott Stallings, Scott Piercy, current FedExCup Points Leader Robert Streb, and many more.

For more information on the new Tour visit (new site coming soon),, or call 800-992-8748.

No comments: