Thursday, December 18, 2014

Eighty-nine Tour players earn status at Tour Q School

Thirty past Tour players finish T43 or better, earn exempt status

(Myrtle Beach, S.C.) - Eighty-nine past and present Tour players competed in the 150 Final Stage field of Tour Q School earning at least conditional status on the premier developmental tour designated as the only path to the PGA TOUR. 30 of those 89 players finished tied for 43rd or better earning exempt status to start the season. The top 45 finishers and ties earn exempt status through the 2nd reorder which will take place after the 8th event of the 2015 season. Six of those 30 finished inside the top 10 earning exempt status through the 3rd reorder which will take place after the 12th vent of the 2015 season.

The six alums to finish T8 or better include past Tour winners Rhein Gibson and Rick Cochran III, 2015 players Andrew Landry and Dustin Bray, and past members Stephan Jaeger and Matt Fast.

The 2nd tier running from 11th to 43rd included past and current Tour members such as 2012 Golf Achievement Award Winner & Big Break Greenbrier Champion Mark Silvers (T14), 2010 Rookie of the Year Ryan Spears (T16), 2011 Player of the Year Jeff Corr (T21), 2014 Tour Money Title runner-up Patton Kizzire (T21), 2014 Winter Series Money Leader Brian Richey (T35), 2014 Rookie of the Year Runner-up Richy Werenski (T43), and past winners Andy Winings (T11), Rob Oppenheim (T43) and Matt Atkins (T43) .

Those finishing after the 43 and ties earn conditional status and will have their numbers alternate with those players that finished 76th to 100th on the 2014 Tour Regular Season Money list and 2nd thru 5th on the PGA TOUR Canada, China, and Latinoamerica tours. The higher a player finished at the Q School Final, the more likely his number is called to compete. Fifty nine past and present Tour players find themselves in this position, including 2014 Tour winner J.C. Horne (T64), 2014 Tour PLAYER OF THE YEAR Dominic Bozzelli (T64), 2013 Rookie of the Year runner-up Trent Whitekiller (T71), 2010 Tour Money Title Winner Matt Harmon (T87), Palmer Cup team member and 2014 ST Tour member James White Jr. (T103), and past Tour winners Ryan Sullivan (T54), Adam Long (T54), Chris Baker (T64), Jamie Sindelar (T64), Frank Adams (T71), Roberto Diaz (T71), Brent Witcher (T71), Chas Narramore (T79), Bubba Dickerson (T79), Chris Naegel (T87), Jason Millard (T94), Scott Parel (T94), Brian Maurer (T103), Josh Broadaway (T109), Vince India (T109), Lanto Griffin (T114), Tim O'Neal (T124), Mike Welch (T135), David Chung (T142), and Robert Rohanna (144).

The Tour is currently taking memberships for the upcoming 2015 Pro Series set to begin in late February and continuing through to early September. The Pro Series will consist of 16 72-hole events with $140,000 Guaranteed Purses and 6 54-hole Qualifier/Q Prep events. Fields are limited to 132 players with the top 55 and ties making each cut. Also a minimum of six (6) 2015 Tour "event" exemptions will be awarded throughout the 2015 Pro Series season on a yet-to-be determined competitive basis. To join the 2015 Tour Pro Series, players need only contact the Tour offices at 800-992-8748 and sign up (memberships are granted on a first come first serve basis, no ranking schools or qualifiers are needed). Membership is $1500 running through January 15th and will increase to $2,000 after that date. Tour alumni have won an amazing 16 Major Championships and include 2012 and 2014 Masters champion Bubba Watson, 2011 PGA Championship winner Keegan Bradley, 2010 PGA TOUR Player of the Year and 2003 US Open Champion Jim Furyk, 2007 Masters Champion Zach Johnson, two-time U.S. Open Champion Lee Janzen, British Open and PGA Champion John Daly, and recent PGA Tour winners such as Robert Streb, Ben Martin, Kevin Streelman, Michael Thompson, Ted Potter Jr, Gary Woodland, Russell Henley, Mark Wilson, George McNeill, Scott Stallings, Scott Piercy, current FedExCup Points Leader Robert Streb, and many more.

For more information on the new Tour visit or call 800-992-8748.

No comments: