Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Frys.com Open Finalizes Field

Frys.com Open Tournament Director Jeff Sanchez awarded the last two sponsor exemptions to 2011 U.S. Amateur Champion Kelly Kraft and 2009 NCAA Champion Matt Hill, who recently won Canadian Tour Rookie of the Year Honors.

Open qualifying was held at Bayonet Golf Course in Seaside on Monday for the final four spots in the field. Marc Turnesa and Craig Barlow tied for medalist at 67 and Derek Ernst scored 68. Matt Marshall won a six way playoff among Michael Jensen, Brandon Harkins, Jordan Cox, Ronald Monaco and Gregor Main at 69 for the final spot.

The Wednesday pro-am has morning times from the first and tenth tees from 7:20 am to 8:50 am, and afternoon times from 11:40 am until 1:10 pm.

Featured professionals include British Open Champion Ernie Els at and European Ryder Cup team member Nicolas Colsaerts at 8:10 am, Defending Champion Bryce Molder at 8:40 am, Vijay Singh at 8:50 am, Ryder Cup Captain Davis Love III at 11:40 am, former Masters Champion Trevor Immelman at 12:40 am and former British Open Champion Justin Leonard at 1:10 pm.

The competition among the 132 professionals competing for the $5M purse, $900,000 to the Champion, begins on Thursday at CordeValle Golf Club in San Martin.

Launched in 2006, Frys.com Open is an official PGA TOUR tournament. Proceeds from the Frys.com Open are donated to local and national charities that are working to improve the lives of others.  The title sponsor Fry’s Electronics is a privately owned retailer with 34 nationwide locations headquartered in San Jose, California. Information is available on www.frysopengolf.com and find us on Facebook and Twitter. The Frys.com Open will be played the week of October 8-14, 2012 at CordeValle Golf Club.

For a complete field, e-mail AmericanGolferBlog@gmail.com.

No comments: