Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Port Royal Golf Club in Bermuda to Host 30th PGA Grand Slam of Golf October 22-24

Keegan Bradley, Bubba Watson, Webb Simpson and Ernie Els Compete with Extensive Television Coverage on TNT

(PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla.) - Masters Champion Bubba Watson, U.S. Open Champion Webb Simpson and Open Champion Ernie Els, will be joined by 2011 PGA Champion and the defending PGA Grand Slam Champion Keegan Bradley to form the year’s elite foursome in the 30th PGA Grand Slam of Golf, Oct. 22-24, 2012, at Port Royal Golf Course in Bermuda. The season-ending showcase event, which boasts the most difficult qualification requirement in the game - a major championship victory - will be televised by TNT to a worldwide audience. Coverage begins Tuesday, Oct. 23, from 4 p.m. – 7 p.m. ET and Wednesday, Oct. 24, from 4 p.m. – 8 p.m. ET.

Port Royal Golf Course joins the Fairmont Southampton as the official hotel site for the PGA Grand Slam of Golf in Bermuda. The 6,845-yard, par-71 Port Royal is a public course that opened for play in 1970.

The PGA Grand Slam of Golf features a $1.35 million purse, with the winner receiving $600,000; second place $300,000; third place $250,000 and fourth place $200,000. TNT’s prime-time broadcast of the event reaches a worldwide audience of more than 400 million households and more than 85 countries and territories.

Hosted by the Bermuda Department of Tourism, Port Royal Golf Course, and the Fairmont Southampton Hotel, The PGA Grand Slam of Golf was established in 1979 and has grown from an 18-hole, single-day event to a 36-hole annual showdown that matches professional golf’s best against each other. Keegan Bradley, who captured the 2011 PGA Grand Slam of Golf title at Port Royal, takes the place of reigning PGA Champion Rory McIlroy who had previously committed to compete in the BMW Masters in Shanghai, China, while Ernie Els is returning for his fourth trip to the Grand Slam, having captured the title in 2010.

Past PGA Grand Slam of Golf Champions include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Jim Furyk, Tom Lehman, Ben Crenshaw, Greg Norman and Nick Price.

For more information on the 30th PGA Grand Slam of Golf, please visit


No comments: