Wednesday, November 19, 2014 Tour Members, Alums Grab 34 of 57 Spots Advancing to Final Stage of Q School

Numbers 1, 2 on Tour Money List, Bozzlli and Kizzire, advance along with members Atkins, Day, Potter, Richey, Van Sickle, Welch, Werenski, Whitekiller, Winings

(Myrtle Beach, S.C.) – 34 Tour alums including medalists Matt Atkins and Trent Whitekiller, advanced out of Tour 2nd Stage to earn their spot into the Final Stage of Tour Q School, thereby earning status onto the official developmental tour of the PGA TOUR for 2015.

The reigning Tour Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year Dominic Bozzelli, who won an NCAA individual championship while at Auburn University, also advanced with Atkins, who starred at USC Aiken, and Whitekiller, who starred at Oklahoma State, via his 2nd place finish at the Kingwood, Tex. 2nd stage site. Bozzelli, out of Pittsford, N.Y., was one of ten Tour alums who advanced out of Kingwood while Whitekiller, out of Sallisaw, Okla., was one of 9 out of McKinney, Tex. and Atkins, out of Owensboro, Ken., was one of 15 in Brooksville, Fla. Patton Kizzire, who finished 2nd on the 2014 Tour money list, also advanced and will be joining his fellow Auburn alum, Bozzelli, via his 3rd place finish at Brooksville. Other 2014 Tour winners that advanced include Florida Southern alum Brian Richey, Georgia Tech alum Richy Werenski, and Kentucky alum Andy Winings. Richey finished 6th on the season ending money list with Winings 8th, Whitekiller 17th, Atkins 22nd, and Werenski 27th.

Altogether, Tour players occupied 34 of the 57 spots that advanced out of the 1st week of 2nd Stage of Q School which continues this week with two sites in Florida and one in California. Final Stage will be held December 11th through 16th in Palm Beach, Fla. All players at Final Stage will earn Tour status for 2015 with only the top 50 earning exempt status to start the season. Only the top medalist and ties will be exempt for the season and from the periodic reorder.
For full Tour results visit

The Tour is the #3 men’s professional golf tour in the US and #1 most recommended developmental tour by golf’s top touring professionals. On average over 40% of every PGA TOUR field and over 60% of every Tour field have spent time on the Tour (formerly the NGA/Hooters Tour). Tour alumni have won an amazing 16 Major Championships including 2012 and 2014 Masters Champion Bubba Watson, 2011 PGA Championship winner Keegan Bradley, 2010 PGA TOUR Player of the Year and 2003 US Open Champion Jim Furyk, 2007 Masters Champion Zach Johnson, two-time U.S. Open Champion Lee Janzen, British Open and PGA Champion John Daly, and recent PGA Tour winners such as Robert Streb, Ben Martin, Michael Thompson, Ted Potter Jr, Gary Woodland, Russell Henley, Mark Wilson, George McNeill, Scott Stallings, Scott Piercy and many more.

For more information on the new Tour or to Join please visit or call 800-992-8748.

No comments: