Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Golf Channel, Golfweek Partner To Elevate Coverage of The Haskins Award presented by Stifel

For the First Time, Haskins Award Winner Announced Live on Golf Channel During Golf Central’s Coverage of NCAA Men’s Golf Championships, June 1

(ORLANDO, Fla.) – A newly expanded partnership involving Stifel, Golf Channel, Golfweek and the Fred Haskins Commission underscores the Haskins Award as one of the most prestigious awards in men’s college golf.

Since 1971, the Haskins Award presented by Stifel has honored the nation’s outstanding male collegiate golfer as selected by his peers. Winners include legends on the PGA TOUR, headlined by three-time recipients Ben Crenshaw and Phil Mickelson.

For the first time, the Haskins Award winner will accept his award live on Golf Channel. The Haskins Award presentation will take place Monday, June 1, during Golf Central, which will air live from the NCAA Men’s Golf Championships at The Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Fla.

The Haskins Award winner also will receive a sponsor’s exemption to compete in The Greenbrier Classic on the PGA TOUR, taking place on the renowned Old White TPC in West Virginia during the first week of July.

“We consider the Haskins Award to be the pinnacle of recognition for men’s golf within the collegiate ranks,” said Stifel Chief Executive Officer Ronald J. Kruszewski. “Golf Channel’s and Golfweek’s coverage will increase awareness for this treasured award with golfers, coaches and supporters of the collegiate game so that they better understand the award’s historical impact.”

“The impressive list of past Haskins Award winners includes a who’s who of golfing greats and as we strive to bring more attention to the collegiate game, this partnership will help elevate this significant recognition,” said Tom Knapp, senior vice president of programming, Golf Channel.

Voting for the Haskins Award will take place following the conclusion of the NCAA Men’s Regional Golf Championships and will close Sunday, May 31 at 9 a.m. ET. Players, coaches and members of the media vote through HaskinsAward.com. Following the close of voting, the Haskins Commission will verify the votes and determine the winner, with the presentation airing live on Golf Channel on Monday, June 1. The Golfweek/Sagarin College Rankings are used to identify the top male collegiate golfers throughout the year.

“College golf is such an exciting and vital part of the game, but it’s a facet that doesn’t always get enough acknowledgment,” said Golfweek Vice President/Publisher Jereme Day. “The Fred Haskins has done an amazing job over the last four decades celebrating the nation’s top collegiate players. Stifel’s commitment to the Haskins has helped make it possible to add the support of Golfweek and Golf Channel, and together I’m certain we can take the award to an even higher level.”

Stifel, a wealth management and investment banking firm based in St. Louis, Mo., recently renewed a three-year contract with the Fred Haskins Commission, a non-profit group in Columbus, Ga., which has managed the voting process for the Haskins Award for 44 years.

Born in Great Britain, the late Fred Haskins was resident pro at the Country Club of Columbus. He taught the nuances of golf to young people in Saturday morning clinics that never cost more than a dime.

“We honor his memory by honoring amateurs who learned the game from teachers like Mr. Haskins,” said J. Madden Hatcher Jr., the commission president. “The award’s standings have grown because of the wonderful relationships we’re establishing at every level of the game.”

Winners of the Haskins Award presented by Stifel have captured 28 majors and nearly 300 professional tournaments around the world. Recipients include Tiger Woods of Stanford, Graeme McDowell of Alabama-Birmingham, Ben Crenshaw of Texas, Curtis Strange of Wake Forest and Phil Mickelson of Arizona State. Young stalwarts such as Russell Henley of Georgia, Justin Thomas of Alabama and Patrick Rodgers of Stanford are joining the game’s best on weekly leaderboards.

Ben Crenshaw, Texas 1971-72-73
Curtis Strange Wake Forest 1974
Jay Haas, Wake Forest 1975
Phil Hancock, Florida 1976
Scott Simpson, USC, 1977
Lindy Miller, Oklahoma State 1978
Bobby Clampett, BYU 1979-80
Bob Tway, Oklahoma State 1981
Willie Wood, Oklahoma State 1982
Brad Faxon, Furman 1983
John Inman, North Carolina 1984
Sam Randolph, USC 1985
Scott Verplank, Oklahoma State 1986
Billy Mayfair, Arizona State 1987
Bob Estes, Texas 1988
Robert Gamez, Arizona 1989
Phil Mickelson, Arizona State, 1990-91-92
David Duval, Georgia Tech 1993
Justin Leonard, Texas 1994
Stewart Cink, Georgia Tech 1995
Tiger Woods, Stanford 1996
Brad Elder, Texas 1997
Matt Kuchar, Georgia Tech 1998
Luke Donald, Northwestern 1999
Charles Howell III, Oklahoma State 2000
Bryce Molder, Georgia Tech 2001
Graeme McDowell, UAB, 2002
Hunter Mahan, Oklahoma State 2003
Bill Haas, Wake Forest 2004
Ryan Moore, UNLV 2005
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State 2006
Jamie Lovemark, USC 2007
Kevin Chappell, UCLA 2008
Matt Hill, N.C. State 2009
Russell Henley, Georgia 2010
Patrick Cantlay, UCLA 2011
Justin Thomas, Alabama 2012
Michael Kim, California 2013
Patrick Rodgers, Stanford 2014

No comments: