Friday, September 27, 2013

Tiger Woods again earns Player of the Year Award and Vardon Trophy

(PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla.) - Tiger Woods, a five-time winner on Tour this year, captured his 11th PGA of America Player of the Year Award and ninth Vardon Trophy, The PGA of America's premier season-ending awards for excellence by a Tour professional. It was the first time since 2009 that Woods earned both PGA of America awards.

Completing his 16th full season as a Tour professional, Woods won The Players Championship and two World Golf Championships among his five victories; finished as the No. 1 money leader; and won the Vardon Trophy by posting the lowest adjusted season scoring average (68.98).

Woods collected 100 overall points, while Masters Champion Adam Scott was next with 64. Henrik Stenson, winner of the Tour Championship and FedEx Cup, shared third at 54 points, along with U.S. Open Champion Justin Rose and Open Champion Phil Mickelson.

Tour rookie Jordan Spieth finished ninth in the PGA Player of the Year standings, after placing eight in scoring and 10th on the season money list.

Woods claimed the Vardon Trophy by completing the Tour Championship, finishing his regular Tour campaign with 61 complete rounds, one above the minimum required 60 to be considered for the award.

Woods' 60 overall victory points were based upon wins in the Farmers Insurance Open, the WGC-Cadillac Championship, the Arnold Palmer Invitational, The Players Championship (worth 20 points) and the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational. Woods earned 20 points as the No. 1 money leader, and 20 more points for adjusted scoring average.

Scott also won the Barclays Championship, was fourth in scoring (69.34), and sixth on the money list.
The PGA of America has honored the game's best players with The PGA Player of the Year Award since 1948. The award is presented to the top touring professional based on a point system for tournament wins, official money standings, and scoring averages. Points are tabulated from Jan. 1, through the Tour Championship, which concluded Sept. 22.

Since 1937, the Vardon Trophy, named by The PGA of America in honor of famed British golfer Harry Vardon, is awarded annually to the touring professional with the lowest adjusted scoring average. It is based on a minimum of 60 rounds, with no incomplete rounds, in events co-sponsored or designated by the PGA Tour. The adjusted score is computed from the average score of the field at each event.

The PGA Tour also recognizes its annual Player of the Year, with the winner determined by a vote of the membership. The voting period commences after the conclusion of The Tour Championship. The Player of the Year, who receives the Jack Nicklaus Trophy, will be announced prior to the start of the 2013-14 season.

Additionally, the Tour recognizes a Rookie of the Year, also determined by a vote among Tour members. In select years, a PGA Tour Courage Award will be presented to a player who, through courage and perseverance, has overcome extraordinary adversity to make a significant and meaningful contribution to the game of golf.

The recipient of this award will be selected by the Commissioner and the Tour's Player Directors.
Other season-ending honors to be announced by the PGA Tour include the Arnold Palmer Award for the leading money-winner and the Byron Nelson Award, presented to the player with the lowest adjusted scoring average (minimum of 50 official rounds).

2013 Final PGA Player of the Year Standings
1. Tiger Woods
2. Adam Scott
T3. Henrik Stenson
T3. Phil Mickelson
T3. Justin Rose
6. Matt Kuchar
7. Brandt Snedeker
8. Jason Dufner
9. Jordan Spieth
10. Zach Johnson

2013 Final Vardon Trophy Standings
1. Tiger Woods
2. Justin Rose
3. Henrik Stenson
4. Adam Scott
5. Sergio Garcia
6. Matt Kuchar
7. Charl Schwartzel
8. Jordan Spieth
9. Keegan Bradley
10. Jason Day


No comments: