Wednesday, June 14, 2017

NCAA Division I Men's, Women's Golf Committees Select Grayhawk Golf Club to host 2020-22 Champs

(INDIANAPOLIS) — The NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Golf Committees have selected Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Arizona as the site for the 2020, 2021 and 2022 Division I Men’s and Women’s Golf Championships.

The championships will be hosted by Arizona State University on the Raptor course at Grayhawk Golf Club.  The Tom Fazio-designed Raptor stretches 7,090 yards from the back tees, with the par-72 course unfolding over the gentle hills and across shaded natural washes typical of this picturesque corner of the Sonoran Desert.  Raptor is one of the finest daily-fee golf courses in Arizona and is listed among the “Best Public Golf Courses in Arizona” by Golf Magazine. Raptor was the host site of the 2007-2009 Open, the inaugural Williams World Challenge; the semifinals and finals of the Andersen Consulting World Championship of Golf, Tommy Bahama’s Desert Marlin; Thunderbird International Junior and Waste Management Phoenix Open Pro Ams.

The 2020 championships will be held from May 22-27 (women) and May 29- June 3 (men).  In 2021, women’s play will take place from May 21-26, while the men’s championships will be decided May 28 through June 2.  In 2022, women’s championships will be held from May 20-25, while the men’s championships will take place May 27-June 1.

 “By choosing one host location for a three-year period beginning in 2020, we will be able to maximize the operations efficiency around the championships while building marketing continuity that will continue to showcase our student-athletes, coaches and teams,” said Jim Fee, chair of the Division I Women’s Golf Committee and associate director of athletics for events and championships at the University of South Florida. “We are at an unprecedented time for our game and are looking forward to the 2018 championships and beyond.”

Arizona has played host to two past NCAA Division I Golf Championships, with the men’s championships played in 1971 at the Tucson National Golf Club, while the women’s championships were held at Karsten Golf Course in Tempe, Arizona in 1992.

“It was difficult choosing a site that could host for three years and the committee appreciated the amount of hosting interest from across the country for the national championships,” said Brad Hurlbut, chair of the Division I Men’s Golf Committee and deputy director of athletics at Sacred Heart University. “Grayhawk and Arizona State will be great hosts for the 2020 to 2022 national championships.”

Prior to being played in Scottsdale in 2020, the 2018 Division I Men’s and Women’s Golf Championships will be held at Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Oklahoma, while the 2019 championships will be held at The Blessings Golf Club in Fayetteville, Arkansas.

For the latest updates regarding NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Golf, visit and

No comments: